So, just in case I didn’t have enough to deal with already, the Universe decided to add a broken car into the mix. On Saturday I stopped at a pedestrian crossing to let a kid on a bike cross and a 4WD promptly ran into the back of my car. Thankfully it was his fault so his insurance will pay for all the repairs, and the damage wasn’t too bad.

My friend decided that this was a sign to not get caught up in the problems and just keep moving forward…she sent me this:

Seems appropriate, no?

Going with the theme of looking forward to new beginnings and fresh starts I’m trying to think of what I want to do with this opportunity, what changes do I want to make?

I think the big thing will be taking more risks. It seems to me that to have great things in your life you need to take risks, you need to be vulnerable, and that’s something I need to work on…speaking of vulnerability, I saw this TED talk on the subject a few weeks ago, it’s an interesting watch. I definitely relate to the ‘perfect’ thing and I think too that I’ve learned that it’s not ok for me to be vulnerable. I had to get strong as a kid and since then any time I’ve had a vulnerable moment I’ve been reminded that I’m ‘the strong one’ and to ‘stay strong’ which I think has translated to ‘you’re not allowed to be vulnerable’. I probably need to work on unlearning this and realising that it’s ok to be vulnerable. I think blogging, and the Betties, is already helping with this because it provides an environment in which we can be vulnerable, air our greatest hopes and fears, at first with enough distance that any rejection doesn’t sting too much, and now knowing that we will be supported and encouraged.

Another thing that I will use this opportunity for is to reasses the things that make ME happy without any outside influences.

If you had a fresh start what changes would you make?

